Stuff to check out

I think I’m going to step back a bit from the down ‘n’ dirty, heavy research for a couple weeks, maybe, and write some points involving interviews with people, photos, updates on events and links to other cool stuff. The basic journalist in me is kind of coming out now, and I’m kind of wanting to do interviews instead of combing through databases (databasi?) and looking at microfilm while trying not to get motion sick.

I also have a long-term project on which I’d really like to focus for a little while; while it doesn’t involve the Negro Leagues, it does involve African-American sports history. I’ll give a hint: Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.

2014-Malloy-Conference-logo.preview

In this post, I want to include some links for other nifty stuff that’s going on. First and foremost is the registration packet and information for the 17th annual SABR Jerry Malloy Leagues Conference this August. You can find registration links, PDFs and information here.

11066828_10152664021472007_1899382282770938183_n

Another item I’d like to offer up is this Facebook story on the impending grave marker ceremony for the legendary George “Rabbit” Shively in Bloomington, Ind. This story holds particular interest for me because I spent a total of seven and a half years in Bloomington as an undergrad and grad student at IU-Bloomington.

Finally, here’s a press release — 2015 March Press Release – They Played for the Love of the Game — for a fascinating exhibition on Minnesota’s rich African-American baseball heritage at the Ramsey County Historical Society Gallery’s Landmark Center in St. Paul, Minn., that’s running there from now until June 7. The free exhibit has been spearheaded by Minnesota blackball writer and researcher Frank White, whom I interviewed for an upcoming article I wrote for City Pages newspaper about the 1909 St. Paul Colored Gophers.

So, if you’re around Bloomington, the Twin Cities or the Steel City, take a day or more to check this stuff out!

Leave a Reply

